April 5th, 1848 (Wednesday)

April 5, 2010

A letter from Tripp, in which he gives a long, rambling account of the affair mentioned in mine to him, and yet varying scarcely a little from what I had stated: so why he troubled himself to write so much I know not, except that it was always his way of drawing out cases. He concludes by saying: “This much, however, I will say, – that I am very sorry for the step I finally took, as well on personal grounds as regards yourself, as also on account of the complexion of the act with reference to the College and to yourself, at that time its lawful Head”.

To this I replied that I was wholly satisfied, and that if any thing should bring him in this direction, and he felt disposed to renew our old acquaintance, he should receive a hearty welcome.

I confess it is a great comfort to be able in good conscience to find for oneself an opening towards men, who behaved so ill.

Leave a Reply

